You are here

Refund Policy

student on laptop

To be eligible for a refund, students must officially withdraw from the College by the deadline in the Refund Schedule. Students may find the specific dates for the Refund Schedule in the Schedule of Classes each term. Specific provisions of the Texas Administrative Code, Title 19, Part I, Chapter 21, Subchapter A, Rule § 21.5 “Refund of Tuition and Fees at Public Community/Junior and Technical Colleges,” govern the refund schedule. Only the Texas Legislature or the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board as authorized by the Legislature can alter this schedule.

The College will process refunds only after completion of all other registration responsibilities.

The College will grant refunds for redetermined legal residence only if the student presents proof to the enrollment services office on or before the 12th class day of the Fall or Spring term or the 8th class day of the Summer session.

Refunds do not include the late registration fee or International student fees. Students who register late are not eligible for 100 percent refunds.

Specific withdrawal dates and refund dates apply to each course based upon start date and class length.

Refund Policy

Withdrawal

Students who officially withdraw from one or more courses will receive a percentage of the refundable tuition and fees they paid, depending on the effective date of complete withdrawal, in accordance with the state refund schedule.

Official Withdrawal

The College will not issue a refund to students who do not officially withdraw, nor will the College issue a refund to students withdrawn by their instructor(s) for excessive absences.

Once students pay tuition and fees or have financial aid applied, they are considered officially registered until they complete the term or officially withdraw. Simply not attending class or telling the instructor does not constitute withdrawal. Withdrawal requests become official and effective the date they are completed online, through the telephone voice response system or received in the enrollment services office, regardless of the date the student last attended class and even if the student never attended class. Students must submit withdrawal requests electronically or in writing on forms from the enrollment services office. A student unable to appear in person may also request withdrawal in a fax or letter addressed to the registrar. Letter requests become effective the date the enrollment services office receives them, regardless of the postmarked date or the date the student last attended class. Mailed requests should include a copy of a picture ID. The College will not accept withdrawal requests by telephone.

Once students have paid tuition and fees, they are officially registered and subject to regulations for withdrawal and refunds. Canceling a check will not cancel registration. Students who register and receive financial aid, then withdraw, drop out, get expelled, or reduce their course load are subject to the Federal Repayment Policy. If they withdraw completely within the 60 percent enrollment period, they must repay a significant amount of their financial aid back to the federal government. Students who owe a repayment may not register until they repay any outstanding balance. San Jacinto College may refer any repayments to the Department of Education for collection.

 

Students transferring to a Texas senior college or university may qualify for a $1,000 rebate if they have attempted no more than three semester credit hours above the minimum number of hours required for their baccalaureate degree. Attempted hours include every course for which the student has registered, as of the official census date, in every term, including: college preparatory courses taken for credit, repeated courses and courses from which the student withdraws and all credit by examination, except for the first nine hours and dual credit courses. Students initiating their undergraduate education at San Jacinto College should carefully follow approved degree plans in order to maintain eligibility for this program. Senior universities are required to provide students with forms and instructions for requesting the rebate at the time the student applies for a baccalaureate degree.

Texas Education Code §54.0065 established this tuition rebate program for certain undergraduate students, according to legislation passed in 1997 by the 75th Texas Legislature and amended in 2003 by the 78th Texas Legislature. The website www.collegefortexans.com includes more detailed information about the tuition rebate program and also includes a directory of institutional contacts.