You are here

Central Campus Organizations

Student Organizations

Phi Theta Kappa

Description: The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two year college students. 

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Tanya Madrigal, 281-476-1501, ext. 1099

Email: tanya.madrigal@sjcd.edu

Membership: Upon invitation and completion of the application process.

Qualifications: Minimum San Jacinto College GPA of 3.5

Dues: 

Meetings: 

Alpha Beta Gamma (Radiography - Freshmen)

Description: The ABG, through experience and education, promotes a better understanding of the art and science of medical radiography. ABG promotes education activities for members, sponsors, and Advisors to attend and participate in professional activities at the annual Texas State Radiology convention.

President: 

Email:

Advisors: Cindra Daniels, 281-998-6150, ext. 1447; Phyllis Hooi, 281-998-6150, ext. 1449

Email: cindra.daniels@sjcd.edu

Email: phyllis.hooi@sjcd.edu

Group Email: alphabetagamma1314@gmail.com

Membership: Open to all Medical Radiography majors.

Dues: $10 per year.


Alpha Beta Gamma (Radiography - Sophomore)

Description: The ABG, through experience and education, promotes a better understanding of the art and science of medical radiography. ABG promotes education activities for members, sponsors, and Advisors to attend and participate in professional activities at the annual Texas State Radiology convention.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Cindra Daniels, 281-998-6150, ext. 1447; Phyllis Hooi, 281-998-6150, ext. 1449

Email: cindra.daniels@sjcd.edu

Email: phyllis.hooi@sjcd.edu

Group Email: alphabetagamma1314@gmail.com

Membership: Open to all Medical Radiography majors.

Dues: $10 per year.


American Society of Interior Designers (ASID)

Description: To enlarge students' understanding of the present and future scope of interior design practice through field trips to historical and showcase homes, networking with professionals and involvement with the Houston A.S.I.D. chapter.

President: 

Email: 

Advisor: David Vanover, 281-998-6150, ext. 1473; Karen Follett, 281-998-6150, ext. 1472

Email: david.vanover@sjcd.edu

Email: karen.follett@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all SJC Interior Design majors.

Dues: None.

Meetings:


Audio Engineering

Description: To enlarge students' understanding of the present and future scope of interior design practice through field trips to historical and showcase homes, networking with professionals and involvement with the Houston A.S.I.D. chapter.

President: 

Email: 

Advisor: Angela Beyer, 281-998-6150, ext. 2146; Les Williams, 281-998-6150, ext. 1890

Email: angela.beyer@sjcd.edu

Email: les.williams@sjcd.edu

Group Email: contact@sjcaeo.org

Website: https://www.facebook.com/sjcaeo

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.


Delta Rho Kappa (Nursing)

Description: The purpose of the Student Nursing Association is to promote and encourage cooperation between nursing students, faculty, and administration of San Jacinto College. The Student Nursing Association exists to promote brotherhood among members and to strive for academic excellence.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Maria Miranda, 281-998-6150, ext. 1299; Edward Nichols. 281-998-6150, ext. 1073

Email: maria.miranda@sjcd.edu

Email: edward.nichols@sjcd.edu

Membership: Any student enrolled in the SJC Associate Degree Nursing Program.

Dues: $40 per member annually (local dues $10 and national dues $30). Members must have membership with both the national and local chapters.


Eye Cons (Vision Care Technology)

Description: To promote vision care awareness in the community by participating in health fairs and support to the optometric and ophthalmic communities of South Texas. Participate in the American Cancer Society’s Annual Relay for Life, and provide a unified spirit among students and faculty and support to the students in the Vision Care Technology program.

President:

Email: 

Advisor: Laura Cole, 281-998-6150, ext. 2086, Debra Clark, 281-478-3606

Email: laura.cole@sjcd.edu

Email: debra.clark@sjcd.edu

Membership: Any student interested in Vision Care.

Dues: $12 annually.


I-Cut (Cosmetology)

Description: To form a foundation for increasing proficiency and professionalism among its members. Assists in promotion of the department through education of said members whilst attending seminars, hosting guest speakers and partaking in various field trips.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Danette Ehlinger, 281-998-6150, ext. 1496; Theresa Rudisell, 281-998-6150, 1497

Email: danette.ehlinger@sjcd.edu

Email: theresa.rudisell@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all students in the daytime cosmetology program and must participate in 50 percent of club activities.

Dues: $5 per year.

Meetings:


Mu Lambda Theta (Medical Laboratory Technology)

Description: To provide opportunities and activities for students in the Medical Laboratory Field.

President: 

Email:

Advisors: Tina Fontenot, 281-998-6150, ext. 1337; Lindsey Everette, 281-998-6150, 1337

Email: tina.fontenot@sjcd.edua>

Email: lindsey.everette@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central Medical Laboratory students.

Dues: $10 per semester.


Phi Beta Lambda (Business)

Description: To provide additional opportunities for post-secondary and college students to develop vocational competencies for business and office occupations and business teacher education.

President: Rafael Balderas

Email: RafaelBalderas97@yahoo.com

Advisors: Helen LaCour, 281-998-1650, ext. 1252; Sherilyn Reynolds, 281-476-1501, ext. 1660

Email: helen.lacour@sjcd.edu ; sherilyn.reynolds@sjcd.edu 

Membership: Open to any currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central student interested in the field of Business and American Enterprise. (Business Management, Office Technology, Information Technology, Economics).

Dues: $20

 

Students of Safety (S.O.S)

Description: Promotes the advancement of the safety profession and safety education and to foster the professional well-being and development of its members within its campus & community.

Presdient: 

Email: 

Advisors: Alfred Sustaita Jr., 281-998-6150, ext. 1348

Email: alfred.sustaita@sjcd.edu

Membership: Minimum 2.0 GPA and currently enrolled at San Jac Central Campus.

Dues: $10 per semester.

Meetings: 


Texas State Teacher's Association - SP

Description: We provide support and opportunities for students interested in a career in education. We attend district and state conventions with opportunities to network with current educators. Interaction with students in public schools is also encouraged.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Patty Steinke, 281-998-6150, ext. 1656; Judy Maima, 281-476-1501, ext. 1483; Tammi Rice 281-998-6150 x 1071

Email: patty.steinke@sjcd.edu; judith.maima@sjcd.edu ; tammi.rice@sjcd.edu 

Website: https://www.facebook.com/tseasanjac

Membership: Open to any SJC student preparing for a career in or interested in education.

Dues: $30 per year; with dues, students get: discounts, magazines, newsletters, travel to conventions, insurance, and state and national membership.

Baptist Student Ministry

Description: Promote spiritual and moral growth of the individual student through a campus program that complements the church, and to present a positive Christian witness to the campus and community. Through involvement in the BSM, you can get involved in Bible studies, retreats, and conferences.

President: 

Email:

Advisors: Jeff Jackson, 281-998-6150, ext. 1256

Email: jeff.jackson@sjcd.edu

Group Email: sanjacintobsm@gmail.com

Membership: All students currently enrolled at San Jacinto College Central campus.

Dues: None.

Creative Writers

Description: The Creative Writers promote the literary community at San Jacinto College Central, encouraging students to practice, perform, and celebrate the literary arts.

President: 

Email: 

Advisor: John Thornburg, 281-998-6150, ext. 1554; Robb Flynn, 281-998-6150, ext. 1244

Email: john.thornburg@sjcd.edu

Email: robb.flynn@sjcd.edu

Membership: San Jacinto College students.

Dues: None.


Gaming Society

Description: Helps promote the hobby of gaming to SJC students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Events Include: computer games, cards, and popular board and role-playing games.

President:

Email: 

Advisor: Mike Kent, 281-998-6150, ext. 1344

Email: mike.kent@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to any SJC student, faculty, or staff.

Dues: None.

Meetings: Saturdays from 10:00am to 12:00am in the C14 Cafeteria area.


Math and Engineering Club

Description: The purpose of the club is to provide information about math and engineering careers with guest speakers from various fields such as aerospace, nanotechnology, as well as a variety of typical engineering fields such as electrical and mechanical.  The club does building activities, number theory and friendly competitions.  It is a social group for anyone interested in math and/or engineering.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Jennifer May, 281-998-6150, ext. 1744; Ryan Martinets, 281-998-6150, ext. 1019

Email: jennifer.may@sjcd.edu

Email: ryan.martinets@sjcd.edu

Website: https://www.facebook.com/MENGSJC314

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None

Meetings:


Orpheus

Description: Gives students the opportunity to learn more about the art and process of conducting. Various topics and event planning will be discussed.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Joseph Schenck, 281-476-1501, ext. 1382; Lindsey Baggett, 404-277-5888

Email: joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Email: lindsey.baggett@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.

 

Psych Club

Description: The Psych Club aims to educate its members, the general student body, and the community at large of psychological issues and themes prevelant in today's society.

President:

Email: 

Advisors: Stefanie Mitchell, 281-998-1501, ext. 1710; Christi Boren, 713-530-6187

Email: stefanie.mitchell@sjcd.edu

Email: christi.boren@sjcd.edu

Membership: Any SJC student with an interest in psychology.

Dues: None.

Meetings: 


SJC Cycling Club

Description: Provides an opportunity for cycling enthusiasts to meet and ride from the SJCC campus, promoting a lifestyle of fitness and fellowship.

President: 

Email: 

Advisors: Ruben Ramirez, 281-476-1501, ext. 1666; Karen Purpera, 281-476-1501, ext. 2706

Email: ruben.ramirez@sjcd.edu

Email: karen.purpera@sjcd.edu

Membership: All student currently enrolled at San Jacinto College Central campus.

Dues: None.


SJCC Orchestra

Description: Encourages students to learn and express themselves though the fine art of music; the SJCC orchestra hosts student concert events throughout the semester and academic year.

President:

Email: 

Advisors: Lindsey Baggett, 404-277-5888; Joseph Schenck, 281-476-1501, ext. 1382

Email: lindsey.baggett@sjcd.edu

Email: joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.