Truck Driving

San Jac Truck Driving

Truck driving is an important industry to the American economy. The business of hauling raw material and finished goods is vital for the smooth flow of an industrialized society. Safety awareness is now a high priority in the industry and should continue to protect the welfare and safety of truckers on the road. The industry is a vital component of the supply chain and is projected to grow 21 percent by 2020.

Courses offered in this area:

Commercial Truck Driving Schedule 2017

Watch the Truck Driving Video




1) Commercial Learners Permit

It is recommended that students obtain a Commercial Learners Permit (CLP) before the (1st) day of class. However, students will have until the (8th) day of class to obtain CLP*. If student does not obtain the CLP by the 8th day of class student will be dropped from the course. The cost of the CLP is $25.00. You may pick–up a Texas Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver Handbook (free of charge) to prepare yourself.

-PLEASE NOTE: If you fail any exam three times, a new application fee (25.00) is required and you must retake all required exams

You will need to take Sections 2, 5, 6 and 14 for the Commercial Learners Permit (CLP). This ensures that you are qualified for the steps required by your Truck Driving instructor.


You are required to pass ALL 4 written tests prior to the issuance of the permit and they MUST be completed in this order:

Test 1             Section 14: Special Requirements for Texas Commercial Motor Vehicles         

Test 2             Section  2:  General Knowledge (Driving Safely) Recommended to browse entire handbook but 

                                         questions are mainly chosen from Section 1, 2, 3, 12 and 13.

Test 3             Section  5:  Air Brakes

Test 4             Section  6:  Combination Vehicles

* It is highly recommended that the students in the Day class take all four (4) Commercial Drivers License written tests at least one (1) week before class starts. You cannot apply for a road test until 14 days after you have had your CLP. On the 15th day after getting CLP, you need to go to DPS Office and pay a prorated fee for your CDL License so a road test can be schedule. San Jacinto College will schedule the test for you, but only after you have your CLP for at least 14 days. Test Dates are over a month ahead after request, so if you want be able to test before graduation, you need to follow these steps. 

PLEASE NOTE: You will need your original or certified copy of your birth certificate.


2) DOT Drug Screen Test and  DOT Physical

You must have a DOT drug test and DOT physical 7days or less before the 1st day of class.

Both tests MUST be taken at this clinic:


2910 Center Street

Deer Park, Texas 77536

(281) 479-5941


Monday & Thursday - 8:00 a.m.  -  9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday - 8:00a.m. - 5:00p.m. (Clinic stops accepting walk-ins at 4:00pm)

Saturday - 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.



If you have any questions about these recommendations, or need additional information about the Commercial Truck Driving program please call the department Administrative Assistant,

Kimberly Adams at (281) 478-3698 or talk to any CTD Instructor at (281) 476-1886.