You are here

Music Faculty & Mission Statement

Music Faculty 

The Faculty at the Monte Blue Music Building represents a rich and varied background of education, experience, and interests. Our instructors are professionals who remain active as performers, conductors, clinicians, adjudicators, and teachers on the local, state, national, and global arena. Students and faculty perform regularly in recitals and concerts and guest artists frequently present workshops on campus. The Department of Music maintains an annual series of outstanding performances, clinics, seminars, master classes, and festivals throughout the year.

Monte Blue Music Building 281-476-1832

Eric Late

Department Chair / Bass

B.M., Lawrence University

M.M., Eastman School of Music

C5.127

Ext. 1831

eric.late@sjcd.edu

Angela Beyer

Recording / MIDI

B.M., Southwest Texas State University


M.A., Middlesex University, SAE

C16.119b

Ext. 2146

angela.beyer@sjcd.edu

Lynne Brandt

Flute / Piano / Theory / Music Appreciation / American Music / Class Piano

B.M., Texas Christian University

M.M., University of North Texas

C5.114

Ext. 1771

lynne.brandt@sjcd.edu

Dr. Martha Braswell

Organ / Piano / Theory

B.M., M.M., Texas A&M at Commerce


Ed.D., University of Georgia

C5.164

Ext. 1603

martha.braswell@sjcd.edu

Dr. Paul Busselberg

Choir / Voice

B.M., Brigham Young University

M.M., Eastman School of Music

D.M.A., Rice University

C5.161

Ext. 1386

paul.busselberg@sjcd.edu

Jeremy Garcia

Guitar / American Popular Music / Music Appreciation

B.M., Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi

M.M., Southern Methodist University

C5.116

Ext. 1381

jeremy.garcia@sjcd.edu

James Metcalfe

Recording / MIDI / Percussion

B.M.Ed, West Texas State University

C16.47

Ext. 1395

james.metcalfe@sjcd.edu

Michael Mizma

MIDI / Percussion

B.M., State University College of New York at Potsdam

M.M., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

C5.112

Ext. 1228

michael.mizma@sjcd.edu

Joseph Schenck

Composition / Theory

B.M., University of Tulsa

M.M., University of Houston

C5.158

Ext. 1382

joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Dr. Sarah Spencer

Piano / Music Literature

B.M., Eastman School of Music

M.M., D.M.A., Rice University

C5.143

Ext. 1379

sarah.spencer@sjcd.edu

Les Williams

Recording

B.M., University of Houston

C16.119e

Ext. 1890

lester.williams@sjcd.edu

Dr. Zachary Bruton

Voice

C5.122

Ext. 1381

zachary.bruton@sjcd.edu

Henry Darragh

Jazz Ensemble / Trombone / Piano (Jazz)

C5.120

Ext. 1373

henry.darragh@sjcd.edu

Joel Fulgham

Percussion

C5.122

Ext. 1832

joel.fulgham@sjcd.edu

David Garza

Audio Troubleshooting

B.A., Texas A&M - Corpus Christi

M.A., American Public University

C16.209

Ext. 1509

david.garza@sjcd.edu

Paul Harris

Woodwinds /

American Popular Music

B.M., Michigan State University

M.M., Michigan State University

C5.118

Ext. 1229

paul.harris@sjcd.edu

Dr. Ingrid Hunter

String Orchestra / Violin / Viola

B.M., Azusa Pacific University

M.M., Duquesne University

D.M.A., University of Houston

C5.156, Music Library

Ext. 1832

ingrid.hunter@sjcd.edu

Francis Koiner

Cello / String Ensemble

B.M., Ithaca College

M.M., Rice University

C5.141

Ext. 3622

fran.koiner@sjcd.edu

Evan Oxenhandler

Music Appreciation

B.M., Berklee College of Music

M.M., University of North Texas

Ext. 1832

evan.oxenhandler@sjcd.edu

Kisa Parker

Voice

C5.141

Ext. 3622

kisa.parker@sjcd.edu

Rebecca Pyper-Busselberg

Voice

C5.156

Ext. 1386

rebecca.pyper@sjcd.edu

Candido Resendez

Live Sound

C16.123

Ext. 1890

candido.resendez@sjcd.edu

Frank Rodriguez

Guitar

C5.139

Ext. 1832

frankvrod@yahoo.com

Kevin Shannon

Trumpet / French Horn

B.M., University of Oklahoma - Norman

M.M., Cleveland Institute of Music

Small Ensemble Room

Ext. 1832

kevin.shannon@sjcd.edu

Graham Tobin

Wind Ensemble

C5.120

Ext. 1373

graham.tobin@sjcd.edu

Kelley Van Slooten

Voice

C5.139

Ext. 3622

kelley.vanslooten@sjcd.edu

Anne Welch

Voice

C5.156

Ext. 1025

anne.welch@sjcd.edu

Glen Wester

Piano / Class Piano

B.M., Midwestern State University

M.M., University of North Texas

Post-Grad., University of Oregon / University of Texas

C5.118

Ext. 1229

ruffus.wester@sjcd.edu

Erin Wright

Bass

C5.156

Ext. 1025

erin.wright@sjcd.edu

Dr. Yi Zhang

Class Piano / Piano

B.M., Lynn University

M.M., University of Houston

D.M. University of Houston

C5.141

Ext. 3622

yi.zhang@sjcd.edu

Geneva Fort

Sr. Administrative Assistant

C5.100

281-476-1832

geneva.fort@sjcd.edu

 
 

Mission Statement 

The Department of Music seeks to foster passion for the study, performance, and recording of music as a dynamic art form, discipline and avenue of personal expression.  We are committed to engaging students in the music major program of study, the audio engineering program, private lesson instruction and musical enrichment for the general student.  We will respect and nurture our students’ individual talents while guaranteeing them our professional support during their study at our institution.  Our success is evidenced by students transferring to professional music schools or senior institutions, placement in professional positions within educational systems, churches and the recording industry.  An appreciation of the value of music is further evident by their continued participation and support of the arts.