Music Faculty & Mission Statement

Music Faculty 

The Faculty at the Monte Blue Music Building represents a rich and varied background of education, experience, and interests. Our instructors are professionals who remain active as performers, conductors, clinicians, adjudicators, and teachers on the local, state, national, and global arena. Students and faculty perform regularly in recitals and concerts and guest artists frequently present workshops on campus. The Department of Music maintains an annual series of outstanding performances, clinics, seminars, master classes, and festivals throughout the year.

Monte Blue Music Building 281-476-1832

Eric Late

Department Chair / Bass

B.M., Lawrence University

M.M., Eastman School of Music

C-5.127

Ext. 1831

eric.late@sjcd.edu

Jeff Adams

Jazz / Woodwinds

B.M., M.M., University of Houston

C-5.120

Ext. 1373

jeffrey.adams@sjcd.edu

Dr. Martha Braswell

Organ / Piano / Theory

B.M., M.M., Texas A&M at Commerce


Ed.D., University of Georgia

C-5.164

Ext. 1603

martha.braswell@sjcd.edu

Dr. Paul Busselburg

Choir / Voice

B.M., Brigham Young University

M.M., Eastman School of Music

D.M.A., Rice University

C-5.161

Ext. 1386

paul.busselburg@sjcd.edu

Dr. Karen Marston

Concert Band / Low Brass

B.M., University of

North Texas

M.M., Rice University

C-5.116

Ext. 1772

karen.marston@sjcd.edu

James Metcalfe

Recording / Percussion

B.M.Ed, West Texas

State University

C-16.47

Ext. 1395

james.metcalfe@sjcd.edu

Mike Mizma

MIDI / Percussion

B.M., State University College of New York at Potsdam

M.M., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

C-5.112

Ext. 1228

michael.mizma@sjcd.edu

Joseph Schenck

Composition / Theory

B.M., University of Tulsa

M.M., University of Houston

C-5.158

Ext. 1382

joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Dr. Sarah Spencer

Piano / Music Literature

B.M., Eastman School of Music

M.M., D.M.A., Rice University

C-5.143

Ext. 1379

sarah.spencer@sjcd.edu

Les Williams

Recording

B.M., University of Houston

C-15.236a

Ext. 1890

lester.williams@sjcd.edu

Darryl Bayer

Trumpet

C-5.122

Ext. 1832

bayernschein@msn.com

Angela Beyer

Recording

C-15.238

Ext. 1890

angela.beyer@sjcd.edu

Aaron Bielish

Strings / Orchestra

C-5.141

Ext. 3622

aaron.bielish@sjcd.edu

Dr. Zachary Bruton

Voice

C-5.122

Ext. 1832

zachary.bruton@sjcd.edu

Paul Harris

Woodwinds /

American Popular Music

C-5.118

Ext. 1229

paul.harris@sjcd.edu

Fran Koiner

Cello

C-5.139

Ext. 3622

fran.koiner@sjcd.edu

Rebecca Pyper-Busselburg

Voice

C-5.161

Ext. 1386

rebecca.pyper@sjcd.edu

Frank Rodriguez

Guitar

C-5.139

Ext. 1832

frankvrod@yahoo.com

Dr. Ian Rollins

Percussion

C-5.110

Ext. 1832

ian.rollins@sjcd.edu

Paul Valdez

Audio-Troubleshooting

C-16.209

281-476-1383

paul.valdez@sjcd.edu

Kelley Van Slooten

Voice

C-5.139

Ext. 3622

kelley.vanslooten@sjcd.edu

Thomas Wells

Piano

M C-5.122

Ext. 1832

thomas.wells@sjcd.edu

Glen Wester

Voice / Piano

C-5.114

Ext. 3620

ruffus.wester@sjcd.edu

Geneva Fort

Administrative Assistant

C-5.100

281-476-1832

geneva.fort@sjcd.edu

 

Mission Statement 

The Department of Music seeks to foster passion for the study, performance, and recording of music as a dynamic art form, discipline and avenue of personal expression.  We are committed to engaging students in the music major program of study, the audio engineering program, private lesson instruction and musical enrichment for the general student.  We will respect and nurture our students’ individual talents while guaranteeing them our professional support during their study at our institution.  Our success is evidenced by students transferring to professional music schools or senior institutions, placement in professional positions within educational systems, churches and the recording industry.  An appreciation of the value of music is further evident by their continued participation and support of the arts.