1st Gen Students
 

Who Can Join

San Jacinto College defines first generation students as those whose parents or guardians do not have at least a 2 year degree. Students who meet this criteria are strongly encouraged to join the student group, the mentoring program, or both. Students can determine their own level of involvement. Attendance to all meetings or activities is not required, though we know that students who are more involved in college usually feel more confident about the college experience. 

 

Our program has two components:

 

1.) a student-run club that hosts weekly meetings and participates in college events like Fall Fest, Spring Fling, and field trips to local universities.

 

2.) a one-on-one mentoring program where students are matched with faculty and/or staff mentors who were first generations students themselves.

 

Currently, there are active 1st Gen programs at the Central and South Campuses.

 

Advisors

Central Campus

South

Campus

Michelle Wilson
Michelle.Wilson@sjcd.edu

Robert Sandhaas Robert.Sandhaas@sjcd.edu

Rene Leija
Rene.Leija@sjcd.edu

Dr. Lynnda Shields Lynnda.Shields@sjcd.edu

Amy Axtell
Amy.Axtell@sjcd.edu
 

Patience Ogedegbe

Patience.Ogedegbe@sjcd.edu

  Imelda Rodriquez Imelda.Rodriguez@sjcd.edu
 

Jennifer Cerda Jennifer.Cerda@sjcd.edu

 

 

 

 

Join us on Social Media

Instagram & Twitter - @Sanjac1stgen