Jim Griffin

Jim Griffin
Associate Vice Chancellor, Senior Vice President
Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology

Jim Griffin is the San Jacinto College associate vice chancellor/senior vice president for the petrochemical training division. Griffin has more than 30 years of experience in the petrochemical manufacturing industry to the College. He has experienced the many changes in workforce demands of the petrochemical industry and the increased need for workers with degrees and certificates. Griffin began his career in petrochemical manufacturing as an environmental, health and safety engineer in Illinois, following completion of his master’s degree thesis on chlorine handling and application safety. He is the past chairman of the board for EHCMA and has served in a variety of key roles at chemical plants, including corporate director and plant manager. Before joining San Jacinto College, he was vice president of manufacturing for Dianal America, a Mitsubishi Chemical Company. He has also served as manufacturing director and in a variety of leadership positions with PolyOne Corp.  


Tom Stang

Tom Stang
Director of Petrochemical Technology


Tom Stang is the director for the LyondellBassell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology. Stang brings 42 years of industry experience to CPET, having worked for several Fortune 500 companies. Prior to San Jacinto College, Stang worked for Dow Chemical for 15 years as an engineer and infrastructure operations and improvement leader.


Clarissa Belbas

Clarissa Belbas
Director of Resources

281-998-6150 x1467

Clarissa Belbas is the director of resources for San Jacinto College’s LyondellBassell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, and Technology. Belbas has experience in the engineering industry with NASA, Amoco, and BP as well as teaching within science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) programs. Belbas is the president of Advancing STEM for Students in South Texas (ASSiST), a program that provides financial assistance, technical mentoring, and STEM classes, workshops, and presentations to a variety of audiences around the greater Houston area.


Joe Zwiercan

Joe Zwiercan
Department Chair, Petrochemical & Energy

281-998-6150 ext. 1352

Joseph Zwiercan is the San Jacinto College Department Chair for Petrochemical/Energy at the LyondellBassell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology. Now in his ninth year at the College, Zwiercan brings more than 30 years of industry experience to his role including new construction, contract maintenance, material and plant maintenance, logistics operations, accounting, fire, medical, HAZMAT, and core rescue. Zwiercan is a member of the Instrument Society of Automation (ISA) and the North American Process Technology Alliance (NAPTA) and serves on the Texas Education Agency (TEA) for the State of Texas Energy Advisory Committee and the NAPTA Outreach Committee as the Education Co-Chair.


Les Crnkovic

Les Crnkovic
Department Chair, Industrial Technology


Les Crnkovic is the San Jacinto College Department Chair of Industrial Technology at the LyondellBassell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology. Crnkovic has more than 40 years professional experience in the non-destructive testing and petrochemical fields ranging from inspector, auditor, KVM systems engineer, mechanical contractor, and sheet-metal worker. Crnkovic has also earned ANSP Pilsbry, AMNH, Berger, COA, DuPont, Festivus, Goold, and PRI industry awards for malacological research.


James Ragaisis

James Regaisis
Dean of Business and Technology


James Ragaisis is the San Jacinto College Dean of Business and Technology for the LyondellBassell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology. Ragaisis has been an industry consultant, community college faculty member, administrator, and leader in higher education for more than 20 years. Ragaisis is board member of the Arizona Tooling & Machining Association (ATMA) Training Center, member of ATMA Education Team, member of the National Tooling and Machining Association (NTMA) Education Team, and a member of the South Pasadena Rotary.