Music and Audio Engineering Faculty & Mission Statement

Music and Audio Engineering Faculty 

The Faculty at the Monte Blue Music Building represents a rich and varied background of education, experience, and interests. Our instructors are professionals who remain active as performers, conductors, clinicians, adjudicators, and teachers on the local, state, national, and global arena. Students and faculty perform regularly in recitals and concerts and guest artists frequently present workshops on campus. The Department of Music and Audio Engineering maintains an annual series of outstanding performances, clinics, seminars, master classes, and festivals throughout the year.

Monte Blue Music Building 281-476-1832

Lynne Brandt

Department Chair

B.M., Texas Christian University
M.M., University of North Texas

C5.101

281-476-1831

lynne.brandt@sjcd.edu

Angela Beyer

Audio Engineering / MIDI

B.M., Southwest Texas State University

M.A., Middlesex University, SAE

C16.119b

Ext. 2146

angela.beyer@sjcd.edu

Dr. Patrick Callaghan

College Choir / Music Appreciations / Class Piano II / Small Vocal Ensemble

B.M.E., University of Wisconsin – River Falls
M.M., Northern Arizona University
D.M.A., University of Kentucky
 
C5.161

Ext. 1386

patrick.callaghan@sjcd.edu

Jeremy Garcia

Guitar / American Popular Music / Music Appreciation

B.M., Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
M.M., Southern Methodist University

C5.116

Ext. 1381

jeremy.garcia@sjcd.edu

James Metcalfe

Audio Engineering / MIDI

B.M.Ed, West Texas State University

C16.119a

Ext. 1117

james.metcalfe@sjcd.edu

Michael Mizma

Percussion / MIDI / Music Business

B.M., State University College of New York at Potsdam
M.M., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

C5.112

Ext. 1228

michael.mizma@sjcd.edu

Joseph Schenck

Composition / Theory

B.M., University of Tulsa
M.M., University of Houston

C5.158

Ext. 1382

joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Dr. Sarah Spencer

Piano / Music Literature

B.M., Eastman School of Music
M.M., D.M.A., Rice University

C5.143

Ext. 1379

sarah.spencer@sjcd.edu

Graham Tobin

Jazz Ensemble / Wind Ensemble Woodwinds / Music Fundamentals

C5.120

Ext. 1373

graham.tobin@sjcd.edu

Jordan Tucker

Theory / Ear-Training / Horn / Piano / Class Piano

B.M., Baylor University
M.M., Baylor University

C5.114

Ext. 1241

jordan.tucker@sjcd.edu

Les Williams

Audio Engineering

B.M., University of Houston

C16.119e

Ext. 1890

lester.williams@sjcd.edu

Jason Adams

Trumpet

B.M. Hartt School of Music

M.M. Manhattan School of Music

C5.114

jason.adams@sjcd.edu

Nicholas Allen

Core

Ext. 1832

nicholas.allen@sjcd.edu

Paul Harris

Woodwinds / American Popular Music

B.M., Michigan State University
M.M., Michigan State University

C5.118

Ext. 1229

paul.harris@sjcd.edu

 

Luke Hubley

Percussion

Ext. 1832

luke.hubley@sjcd.edu

Dr. Ingrid Hunter

String Orchestra / Violin / Viola

B.M., Azusa Pacific University
M.M., Duquesne University
D.M.A., University of Houston

C5.156, Music Library

Ext. 1832

ingrid.hunter@sjcd.edu

Francis Koiner

Cello / String Ensemble

B.M., Ithaca College
M.M., Rice University

C5.141

Ext. 3622

fkoiner1@gmail.com

Nathan Mays

Fundamentals / Core

Ext. 1832

nathan.mays@sjcd.edu

Howard McMichael

Low Brass / Fundamentals / Core

Ext. 1832

howard.mcmichael@sjcd.edu

Janel Mercado

Voice / Core

Ext. 1832

janel.mercado@sjcd.edu

Candido Resendez

Live Sound

C16.123

Ext. 1890

candido.resendez@sjcd.edu

Will Stephens

MIDI

Ext. 1832

william.stephens@sjcd.edu

 

Steven Termini

Piano

Ext. 1832

steven.termini@sjcd.edu

Sarah Watson

Voice / Core

B.M., Gordon College
M.M., Longy School of Music, Bard College

C5.100

Ext. 1832

sarah.watson@sjcd.edu

Anne Heath-Welch

Voice

C5.156

Ext. 1025

anne.welch@sjcd.edu

Glen Wester

Piano / Class Piano

B.M., Midwestern State University
M.M., University of North Texas
Post-Grad., University of Oregon / University of Texas

C5.118

Ext. 1229

ruffus.wester@sjcd.edu

Erin Wright

Bass

C5.156

Ext. 1025

erin.wright@sjcd.edu

Dr. Yi Zhang

Class Piano / Piano

B.M., Lynn University
M.M., University of Houston
D.M.A., University of Houston

C5.141

Ext. 3622

yi.zhang@sjcd.edu

Timothy Kochen

Sr. Administrative Assistant

C5.100

281-476-1832

timothy.kochen@sjcd.edu

     
 

Mission Statement 

The Department of Music and Audio Engineering seeks to foster passion for the study, performance, and recording of music as a dynamic art form, discipline and avenue of personal expression.  We are committed to engaging students in the music major program of study, the audio engineering program, private lesson instruction and musical enrichment for the general student.  We will respect and nurture our students’ individual talents while guaranteeing them our professional support during their study at our institution.  Our success is evidenced by students transferring to professional music schools or senior institutions, placement in professional positions within educational systems, churches and the recording industry.  An appreciation of the value of music is further evident by their continued participation and support of the arts.