Music and Audio Engineering Faculty & Mission Statement

Music and Audio Engineering Faculty 

The Faculty at the Monte Blue Music Building represents a rich and varied background of education, experience, and interests. Our instructors are professionals who remain active as performers, conductors, clinicians, adjudicators, and teachers on the local, state, national, and global arena. Students and faculty perform regularly in recitals and concerts and guest artists frequently present workshops on campus. The Department of Music and Audio Engineering maintains an annual series of outstanding performances, clinics, seminars, master classes, and festivals throughout the year.

Monte Blue Music Building 281-476-1832

Lynne Brandt

Department Chair, Music & Audio Engineering

B.M., Texas Christian University
M.M., University of North Texas

C5.101

281-476-1831

lynne.brandt@sjcd.edu

Angela Beyer

Audio Engineering / MIDI

B.M., Southwest Texas State University

M.A., Middlesex University, SAE

C15

Ext. 2146

angela.beyer@sjcd.edu

Dr. Patrick Callaghan

Choir / Core / Class Piano  

B.M.E., University of Wisconsin – River Falls
M.M., Northern Arizona University
D.M.A., University of Kentucky
 
C5.161

Ext. 1386

patrick.callaghan@sjcd.edu

Michael Mizma

Percussion / MIDI / Music Business

B.M., State University College of New York at Potsdam
M.M., University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

C5.112

Ext. 1228

michael.mizma@sjcd.edu

Joseph Schenck

Composition / Theory / Core

B.M., University of Tulsa
M.M., University of Houston

C5.158

Ext. 1382

joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Graham Tobin

Jazz Ensemble / Wind Ensemble / Woodwinds / Music Fundamentals

C5.120

Ext. 1373

graham.tobin@sjcd.edu

Jordan Tucker

Theory / Composition / Horn / Piano / Trumpet / Class Piano

B.M., Baylor University
M.M., Baylor University

C5.114

Ext. 1241

jordan.tucker@sjcd.edu

Les Williams

Audio Engineering

B.M., University of Houston

C15

Ext. 1890

lester.williams@sjcd.edu

Lance Laster

Low Brass / Core

B.M., University of Houston
M.M., Temple University

Ext. 1832

lance.laster@sjcd.edu

Nathan Mays

                     Core                    B.M., Sam Houston State University                           M.M., Texas State University

Ext. 1832

nathan.mays@sjcd.edu

Howard McMichael

Low Brass / Core

B.M., University of Houston   M. M., Stephen F. Austin State University                               

Ext. 1832

howard.mcmichael@sjcd.edu

Janel Mercado

Voice / Core

Ext. 1832

janel.mercado@sjcd.edu

Gregory Petito

Guitar / Class Guitar

B.M., University of North Texas

M.M., Northern Illinois University

Ext. 1832

gregory.petito@sjcd.edu

Candido Resendez

Live Sound

Ext. 1832

candido.resendez@sjcd.edu

 

 

Dr. Jolie Rocke

Voice

B.M.E., University of Hartford M.M., Loyola College       D.M.A., University of Connecticut                             Ext. 1832

jolie.rocke@sjcd.edu

 

William Stephens

MIDI

Ext. 1832

william.stephens@sjcd.edu

 

 

Dr. Steven Termini

Piano / Class Piano

B.M., University of Texas  M.M. California Institute of the Arts                             Ph.D. Royal Academy of Music                                 Ext. 1832

steven.termini@sjcd.edu

 

 

Jesse Tingle

Core

B.M., University of Louisiana
M.M., Stephen F. Austin State University

Ext. 1832

jesse.tingle@sjcd.edu

 

 

Sarah Watson

Voice 

B.M., Gordon College
M.M., Longy School of Music, Bard College

Ext. 1832

sarah.watson@sjcd.edu

 

 

Anne Heath-Welch

Voice

 

Ext. 1832

anne.welch@sjcd.edu

 

 

Erin Wright

Bass

 

Ext. 1832

erin.wright@sjcd.edu

 

 

Dr. Yi Zhang

Class Piano / Piano

B.M., Lynn University
M.M., University of Houston
D.M.A., University of Houston

Ext. 1832

yi.zhang@sjcd.edu

Timothy Kochen

Sr. Administrative Assistant

C5.100

281-476-1832

timothy.kochen@sjcd.edu

 
 

Mission Statement 

The Department of Music and Audio Engineering seeks to foster passion for the study, performance, and recording of music as a dynamic art form, discipline and avenue of personal expression.  We are committed to engaging students in the music major program of study, the audio engineering program, private lesson instruction and musical enrichment for the general student.  We will respect and nurture our students’ individual talents while guaranteeing them our professional support during their study at our institution.  Our success is evidenced by students transferring to professional music schools or senior institutions, placement in professional positions within educational systems, churches and the recording industry.  An appreciation of the value of music is further evident by their continued participation and support of the arts.