The law requires all incoming Texas college students under age 22 to receive a vaccination or booster against bacterial meningitis. Here’s helpful information about where to receive the shot on campus and how to submit your shot record to the school.
The Texas Legislature requires that all incoming Texas college students under 22 years of age must receive a vaccination or booster against bacterial meningitis. You must provide evidence that you are in compliance with the meningitis requirement before you can register for classes.
The meningitis vaccine is required for the following individuals under 22 years of age, including:
The student or parent/guardian of the student must provide evidence showing the student has received the bacterial meningitis vaccination or booster within the last five years prior to enrollment, and not less than 10 days before the first day of classes. Students should get the MenACWY or MPSV4 vaccination to meet the state requirements. The MenB vaccination does not meet state requirements.
San Jac provides the meningitis vaccine without requiring you to pay when you get the shot. You can add the cost to your registration charges so you can register for classes and pay for the shot with financial aid, Installment Payment Plan, or other methods.
Shots are available close to the start of each semester and we'll have a sign up link available on this page.
Price: $35 for students 18 and under; $125 to students 19 and older
Complete this online form, you submit your shot record to firstname.lastname@example.org.
You can also bring your meningitis record to the admissions office. Sign in at the welcome desk for walk-in service.
Book an appointment with an admissions advisor. Select “Virtual” as the appointment type, then “Document Intake/Record Update - Virtual” as the visit reason.
Acceptable evidence of vaccination or receiving a booster dose includes:
Listed below are San Jacinto College students who are not required to submit evidence of receiving the vaccination against bacterial meningitis or evidence of receiving a booster dose:
Students who are 22 years of age or older
Students who enrolled during the Fall 2011 term or earlier and who have maintained continual Fall and Spring term enrollment as long as they remain San Jac students. (Note: the exception does not apply once a San Jac student transfers to another college.)
Students who are enrolled only in Continuing and Professional Development courses or corporate training programs that are less than 360 contact hours that are not linked to Credit classes. Contact Us for more information.
Listed below are San Jacinto College students who are not required to receive meningitis vaccinations, but are required to submit documentation for waiver by submitting this compliance form.